Wine Institute (IVV)

The Institute

The catalysts that led to the setting-up of the IVV in 1925 were fungal infections and depredations by pests, especially grape phylloxera, which severely affected Luxembourg’s domestic viticulture at that time. The initial task of the Institute was to apply practical measures throughout all areas of the wine industry, with a view to helping winegrowers to overcome the difficulties which they were facing at the time and to provide them with support in the form of advice and practical assistance.

In so doing, and by providing innovative and practical solutions, the Institute has at all times been there to help Luxembourg’s domestic winegrowers and to offer them its assistance in dealing with the myriad of new challenges with which they are constantly faced.

Today, the Institute not only provides administration facilities housed in modern premises but also continues to function as an important research centre in numerous areas of viniculture and cellar management. With its vineyards extending over 6 hectares, it has become an interface combining theory and practice, research, development, guidance and continuing training. Forward-looking methods are tested and developed for practical use.

The Institute’s tasks today are focused, in essence, on applied research and practice-related testing in the areas of plant protection, grape varieties that are resistant to fungal infections, the development of environmentally friendly production processes, vine nutrition, viniculture, wine treatment and oenology, as well as ongoing and further training.

In addition, the Institute plays a significant role, within the framework of the “AOP Moselle luxembourgeoise”, in the official testing of quality wines and sparkling wines. In this area, the Institute carries out the important task of checking and monitoring compliance with all quality criteria.

The Institute also acts as a major point of contact as regards the initial, and above all the continuing training, of winegrowers. It offers lectures, seminars and further training courses covering significant issues and subject areas in the wine industry field, with a view to acquainting winegrowers with the latest findings in the areas of viniculture and cellar management. In so doing, the Institute plays its part in promoting sustainable viniculture and enables Luxembourg’s wine industry to become ever more competitive.

Within the framework of the agricultural policy, the Institute administers the parcels of land used for vine-growing, various State aid programmes and also EU programmes aimed at promoting viniculture.

In the context of viniculture policy, the Institute, as a State organisation, operates as a link between professional winegrowers, the Ministry of Viticulture and the EU Commission. It is responsible for ensuring the practical implementation of national rules and EU Regulations and of supervising and monitoring their application in wineries.

Background

In 1884 Luxembourg joined the German Customs Union. At that time, Germany was in the midst of industrialisation, and its new wealth manifested itself, amongst other things, in an increased consumption of sparkling wine. To meet this demand, the German trade bought up in those years almost the whole of Luxembourg’s wine production. At the beginning of the 20th century, the Luxembourg wine industry was at its zenith, with wine prices skyrocketing.

After the end of the First World War, the Customs Union was dissolved and the German market for Luxembourg wines practically disappeared. In addition to the economic catastrophe to which this gave rise, Luxembourg was then hit by the pestilence of grape phylloxera. This attacked the roots of the vine, so that it was necessary to transplant the entirety of the vines planted over an affected area to rootstocks that were resistant to phylloxera. The whole of the winegrowing industry, which had previously supplied only raw products, had therefore to undergo a total transformation, just in order to be able to survive.

Reconstruction measures were promptly set in motion; despite the global economic crisis, these resulted in the creation, over the space of barely 20 years, the Luxembourg viniculture that we know today.

As part of these reforms, the Luxembourg Institut viti-vinicole was set up in 1925 under the aegis of the State, with the aim of providing winegrowers with basic scientific and vinicultural support and guidance as they transformed their industry. Initially, the Institute’s main task was to make available to winegrowers the necessary material for the replanting of their vineyards.

However, with the rapid development came the need for further changes, and in due course the Institute assumed new tasks. Its mission was expanded by the Laws of 1945, 1963, 1976 and 2003, and its new premises were inaugurated in 1962.

Its remit has been further enlarged by additional tasks in the areas of relations with the EU Institutions, maintenance of the vineyard register, wine controls, the Marque nationale des vins luxembourgeois (Office national des appellations d'origine protégées - Moselle luxembourgeoise), wine analysis and the administration of aid moneys.

Organisation chart

The Institute not only functions as a modern administrative body but also undertakes important research in numerous areas of viniculture and cellar management. The following subject areas are covered by the Institute’s four departments:

Viniculture and administration of aid to winegrowers

The Viniculture Department performs tasks in the following areas: practical testing, variety trials, monitoring of wine nurseries, supervision of transplanting and replanting of vineyard plots within the winery perimeter, delimitation of the wine-growing region, demarcation of boundaries, transposition of EU viniculture legislation, testing and advising in relation to organic wine production, advising winegrowers, organising informational and training events, administering various types of aid, maintaining the vineyard register, managing the Institute’s website, and wine-growing statistics (wine year).

Wine laboratory

The wine laboratory carries out official analytical tests in respect of all grape musts, still wines, sparkling wines and Luxembourg crémants. It also provides advice in relation to winemaking. To that end, analytical testing of new wines still in fermentation and other wines is absolutely essential.

Wine controls and AOP

The Wine Control Department checks whether the strict criteria laid down in the specifications of the AOP-Moselle Luxembourgeoise are being met. In addition to quality wines, controls on a sample basis by the Wine Control Department are mandatory in respect of all wines. Those controls may take the form of sensory assessments, checking cellar books, the use of wine treatment methods, the taking of samples for analytical and sensory testing, and controls with regard to wine designations.

State Winery

The Luxembourg State Winery consists of around five hectares of vineyards, located in Remich, Stadtbredimus, Ehnen and Dreiborn.

Administrative procedures

This section redirects you to the Institute’s procedures as described on guichet.lu. Each procedure enables you to access the relevant dedicated forms and the contact details of the bodies concerned. Where a publication exists in relation to the procedure, it is mentioned in the links associated with the procedure.

Farm structure survey

Last update

Weinbauinstitut (IVV)

Das Institut

Auslöser für die Errichtung des Weinbauinstitutes im Jahre 1925 waren Pilzkrankheiten und Schädlinge, vor allem war es die Reblaus, die damals dem einheimischen Weinbau stark zusetzte. Aufgabe des Instituts damals war es durch praktische Arbeiten auf dem Gesamtgebiet der Weinwirtschaft den Winzern bei der Überwindung ihrer damaligen schwierigen Situation zu helfen und sie mit Rat und Tat zu unterstützen.

Dabei hat das Weinbauinstitut durch innovative und praxisbezogene Lösungen die einheimischen Winzer in der Flut neuer Herausforderungen ständig begleitet und ihnen seine Hilfestellung angeboten.

Heute ist das Institut neben einer modernen Verwaltungsstelle immer noch eine wichtige Versuchsanstalt in vielen weinbaulichen und kellerwirtschaftlichen Bereichen. Mit seinen 6 Hektar Weingärten ist es zu einer Schnittstelle von Theorie und Praxis, von Forschung, Entwicklung, Beratung und Weiterbildung geworden. Zukunftsweisende Methoden werden erprobt und bis hin zur Praxisreife entwickelt.

Wesentliche Aufgaben sind heute die angewandte Forschung und die praxisbezogene Versuchstätigkeit in den Bereichen Pflanzenschutz, pilztoleranter rebsorten , Entwicklung umweltschonender Produktionsverfahren, Rebenernährung, Weinbau, Weinbehandlung und Oenologie sowie Maßnahmen der Fort- und Weiterbildung.

Darüber hinaus spielt das Weinbauinstitut, im Rahmen der « AOP Moselle luxembourgeoise », eine bedeutende Rolle bei der amtlichen Prüfung von Qualitätsweinen und Sekten. Alle Qualitätskriterien zu kontrollieren und zu überwachen ist die wichtige Aufgabe, welche das Institut in diesem Bereich übernimmt.

Das Institut ist ebenfalls ein bedeutender Ansprechpartner was die Aus- und vor allem die Weiterbildung der Winzer betrifft. Vorträge, Seminare und Weiterbildungskurse, die sich mit den wichtigen Fragestellungen und Themenbereichen der Weinwirtschaft befassen, werden angeboten, um die neuen Erkenntnisse in Weinbau und Kellerwirtschaft an die Winzer zu übermitteln. Auf diese Weise wird das Institut der Forderung für einen nachhaltigen Weinbau gerecht und gibt die Möglichkeit die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des heimischen Weinbaus weiter auszubauen.

Im Rahmen der Agrarpolitik verwaltet das Weinbauinstitut die Weinbergsparzellen, verschiedene staatliche Beihilfen sowie EU-Förderprogramme für den Weinbau.

Im Rahmen Weinbaupolitik steht das staatliche Institut als Bindeglied zwischen dem Winzerberuf, dem Weinbauministerium und der EU-Kommission. Ihm obliegt die Aufgabe die nationalen gesetzlichen Bestimmungen sowie die EU-Verordnungen in die Praxis umzusetzen und ihre Anwendung in den Weinbaubetrieben zu kontrollieren und zu überwachen.

Vorgeschichte

Im Jahre 1884 trat Luxemburg dem deutschen Zollverein bei. Deutschland war zu dieser Zeit im Aufbruch der Industrialisierung und der neue Reichtum machte sich mit einem gestiegenen Sektverbrauch bemerkbar. Um dieser Nachfrage gerecht zu werden, kaufte der deutsche Handel in diesen Jahren fast die gesamte Luxemburger Weinproduktion auf. Am Anfang des 20 Jahrhunderts war der Luxemburger Weinbau auf einem wirtschaftlichen Höhepunkt, die Weinpreise stiegen ins Unermessliche.

Nach dem Ende des 1. Weltkrieges wurde der Zollverein aufgelöst und fast der gesamte deutsche Markt entfiel für unsere einheimischen Weine. Neben dieser wirtschaftlichen Misere kam dann noch der Schädlingsbefall der Reblaus dazu. Dieser Schädling befiel die Wurzeln der Rebe, so dass es erforderlich war die gesamte bestockte Rebfläche auf reblausresistente Unterlagen umzupflanzen. Der bis dahin nur Rohprodukte liefernder Weinbau musste also komplett neu umgestellt werden, um überhaupt überleben zu können.

Es setzte sich schlagartig eine Rekonstruktionsbewegung in Gang, die trotz der Weltwirtschaftskrise in kaum 20 Jahren den Luxemburger Weinbau schuf, den wir heute kennen.

 Im Rahmen dieser Reformen, wurde auch 1925 die Staatliche Weinbaustation gegründet, um den Winzer bei der Umstellung ein wissenschaftliches und weinbauliches Fundament zu geben. Damals bestand die Hauptaufgabe darin den Winzern das nötige Pflanzungsmaterial bei der Neuanpflanzung der Weinberge zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Doch die rasante Entwicklung machte weitere Änderungen notwendig und im Laufe der Zeit kamen neue Aufgaben hinzu. Durch die Gesetze von 1945, 1963, 1976 und 2003 wurden die Missionen des Weinbauinstitutes erweitert. Im Jahre 1962 wurde das neue Gebäude eingeweiht.

Hinzu kamen Missionen im Bereich der Beziehungen zu EU-Institutionen, der Weinbaukartei, der Weinkontrolle, der Marque Nationale des Vins luxembourgeois (Office Nationale de l'Appellation d'Origine Protégée - Moselle luxembourgeoise), der Weinanalyse sowie im Bereich der Verwaltung von Fördergeldern.

Organigramm

Das Weinbauinstitut ist neben einer modernen Verwaltungsstelle eine wichtige Versuchsanstalt in vielen weinbaulichen und kellerwirtschaftlichen Bereichen. Folgende Themenbereiche werden von den 4 Abteilungen des Weinbauinstitutes abgedeckt:

Weinbau und Beihilfen

Die Abteilung Weinbau hat folgende Aufgabenbereiche: Praxisbezogene Versuchstätigkeit, Sortenversuche, Kontrolle der Rebschulen, Überwachung der Umpflanzungen und Neupflanzungen von Weinbergsparzellen innerhalb des Weinbauperimeters, Abgrenzung des Weinbaugebietes, Lagenabgrenzung, Umsetzung der EU-Weinbaugesetzgebung, Versuchswesen und Beratung im ökologischen Weinbau, Beratung der Winzer, Informations- und Weiterbildungsveranstaltungen, Verwaltung verschiedener Beihilfen, Weinbaukartei, Internetseite des Weinbauinstitutes, Weinbaustatistiken (Weinjahr).

Weinlabor

Das Weinlabor führt die offiziellen analytischen Prüfungen aller Moste, Weine, Schaumweine und luxemburgischen Crémants durch. Desweiteren bietet das Weinlabor eine Beratung bei der Weinbereitung an. Zu diesem Zweck ist eine analytische Prüfung der Jungweine und Weine unumgänglich.

Weinkontrolle und AOP

Die Abteilung Weinkontrolle überprüft ob die strengen Kriterien des Lastenheftes der AOP-Moselle Luxembourgeoise  eingehalten werden. Neben den Qualitätsweinen müssen durch die Weinkontrolle alle Weine stichprobenartig kontrolliert werden. Diese Kontrollen können aus sensorischen Begutachtungen, Prüfung der Kellerbücher, Verwendung von Weinbehandlungsmitteln, Entnahme von Proben zur analytischen und sensorischen Prüfung, Kontrolle der Bezeichnung der Weine bestehen.

Staatsweingut

Die Weinbaudomaine des Luxemburger Staates umfasst rund 5 Hektar Weinberge, gelegen in Remich, Stadtbredimus, Ehnen sowie Dreiborn.

Vorgänge

 

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am