The ministry

Recent developments in Luxembourg agriculture

During the second half of the 20th century, Luxembourg’s agricultural sector, like that of all the other EU Member States, underwent a far-reaching restructuring process. It was this period that saw the preparation and integration of Luxembourg’s agriculture into the European Common Market.

During this period, agriculture in Luxembourg was marked by the disappearance of 8 000 agricultural holdings, a decrease of some 6 000 hectares in the amount of land used for farming, a reduction in the number of people living in agricultural areas and working on the land, a rapid expansion of mechanisation, increased recourse to innovation thanks to the introduction of numerous new production methods and techniques, and a marked switch from arable crop production to cattle farming and the arrival on the scene of organic agriculture.

The period in question was also characterised by a process of concentration of holdings and increased productivity.

Since 1962, the number of large-scale holdings, extending over more than 50 hectares, has grown sixfold and their average size has risen from 64 hectares to 104 hectares.

Tasks and remit of the Ministry

The areas of competence of the Ministry of Agriculture, Viticulture and Rural Development are as follows:

  • food production at the level of agriculture, viticulture and horticulture;
  • aspects of food safety linked to primary production;
  • rural development.

For agriculture to be modern, multifunctional and, above all, sustainable, it must be characterised by a complementarity of productivity, protection of the environment and animal welfare, product quality, employment and regional balance. The national strategy for this sector accords with the six priorities laid down in the rules enacted by the European Parliament and the Council relating to the provision of support for rural development by the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development.

The agricultural sector thus contributes to the Europe 2020 strategy by responding to the new challenges facing our society, in particular those of an economic, social, environmental, climatic and technological nature, through participation in the development of smart, sustainable and inclusive growth.

In addition to confronting these challenges, farmers must constantly adapt their activities in line with meteorological conditions and the situation on the constantly evolving markets for agricultural products.

In this context, it should be stressed that the activities of farmers not only enable us to feed ourselves but also contribute to the preservation of our rural areas and our natural resources – something that is in the interests of all of us. Farmers also play a pivotal role in the revitalisation of the countryside and the rural economy.

The common agricultural policy

The common agricultural policy (CAP) is Europe’s answer to the need to ensure a decent standard of living for 22 million farmers and agricultural workers and to provide a stable, safe and healthy food supply for its 500 million citizens. As a common policy for all 28 EU countries, the CAP strengthens the competitivity and viability of EU agriculture by providing direct payments aimed at stabilising farm revenues, and finances projects responding to country-specific needs through national rural development programmes which also cover the wider rural economy and life in rural areas.

The CAP also provides a range of market measures including tools to address the impact of price volatility and other market difficulties, and additional elements, such as quality logos or promotion of EU farm products, supplementing CAP action to support farmers.

Certain key political priorities for which CAP funding should be used have been laid down at European level – jobs and growth, sustainability, modernisation, innovation and quality. In addition, Luxembourg has the flexibility to adapt both direct payments and its rural development programme to its specific needs.

Fairer and greener direct payments

Luxembourg’s farmers, like their counterparts throughout the Union, are subject to so-called “greening” rules, designed to ensure that they farm in a sustainable way and help contribute to EU efforts to tackle climate change, biodiversity loss and soil quality.

Under this system, 30% of the direct payment allocation, paid per hectare, is linked to three environmentally-friendly farming practices: crop diversification, maintaining permanent grassland and dedicating 5% of arable land to environmentally friendly measures (so-called “ecological focus areas”). Luxembourg uses the standard basic payment scheme for direct payments to farmers, and will gradually converge the level of payments per hectare made to farmers with a deadline of 2019.

Luxembourg has also established a system of lump-sum payments to young farmers.

Supporting key priorities for Luxembourg’s rural development

Rural development is the second pillar of the CAP. It makes available to the Member States a European financial allocation for the management of programmes co-financed at national or regional level within the framework of a multiannual programming system.

In order to meet the various challenges, the Luxembourg rural development programme (RDP) is designed around four EU priorities, the most important of which is the fourth one: restoring, preserving and enhancing the ecosystems linked to agriculture and forestry.

  • The objectives and targets for the different priorities of the 2014-2020 RDP are as follows:
  • viability and competitivity of agricultural holdings;
  • restoring, preserving and enhancing the ecosystems linked to agriculture and forestry;
  • efficient use of resources and climate-related aspects;
  • social inclusion and local development in rural areas.

The Law of 27 June 2016 concerning support for the sustainable development of rural areas transposes, inter alia, the measures provided for by the RDP. It also establishes a statutory framework for the period 2014-2020 in respect of State aid, as part of the continuing reform of the CAP described above.

Rural development in the municipalities

Ever since 1990, the Ministry of Agriculture, Viticulture and Rural Development has been actively assisting the municipalities in the drawing-up of programmes and municipal development plans (MDPs).

In addition to providing logistical and technical assistance, it shoulders part of the costs of municipal planning, with a maximum of 50% of the total cost being borne by the municipalities involved.

In the course of the integrated and participative MDP action, an assessment of the localities concerned is carried out on the basis of a detailed inventory relating to the different thematic areas covered by the MDP in question:

  • the regional context, the demographic development, the socio-economic structures and community facilities;
  • the habitat and the inhabited environment, municipal land management and the development of town and country planning;
  • the natural and human environment and ecology in inhabited areas;
  • socio-cultural activities, local identity and meeting-places.

This integrated and participative approach is aimed at leading to a joint strategy of sustainable development, broadly adopted and supported both by local councillors and by interested parties within civil society. It is being implemented within the framework of the Law of 27 June 2016.

LEADER

“Liaison Entre Actions de Développement de l’Economie Rurale” (“Links between Actions for the Development of the Rural Economy”) (LEADER) is an EU initiative aimed at creating links between projects relating to, and stakeholders involved in, the economic aspects of the rural environment. Thus, its objective is to mobilise the inhabitants of rural areas and to help them to bring their ideas to fruition and experiment with new methods.

The LEADER beneficiaries are the Local Action Groups (LAGs), within which public partners (municipalities) collaborate with private partners coming from the different socio-economic sectors. Pursuing a bottom-up approach, the LAGs are responsible for drawing up and implementing local development strategies.

Since its introduction in Luxembourg in 1991, LEADER has become a key integral part of the regional and national rural development policy. Nearly 440 innovative projects have been carried through thanks to LEADER. Numerous inhabitants of rural areas have been involved in LEADER projects and have reaped the benefits of those actions.

In addition, LEADER provides support for the population and the economy, creates jobs, enlivens cultural and social life, stimulates the exploitation of potential in all its forms, encourages people to unite in action, brings together those who are committed to the various actions, enables innovative ideas to see the light of day and creates contacts between citizens throughout Europe.

Last update

Das Ministerium

Jüngste Entwicklungen in der luxemburgischen Landwirtschaft

In der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts befindet sich die luxemburgische Landwirtschaft – wie auch die gesamte europäische Landwirtschaft – in einem tiefgreifenden Umstrukturierungsprozess. Es handelt sich um den Zeitraum der Vorbereitung und Integration der luxemburgischen Landwirtschaft in den europäischen Binnenmarkt.

Die luxemburgische Landwirtschaft ist in dieser Zeit gekennzeichnet durch das Verschwinden von 8.000 landwirtschaftlichen Betrieben, einen Rückgang der landwirtschaftlich genutzten Fläche um 6.000 ha, eine Abnahme der Bevölkerung und der landwirtschaftlichen Arbeitskräfte, eine zunehmende Mechanisierung, einen verstärkten Einsatz von Innovationen dank zahlreicher neuer Betriebsmittel und Produktionstechniken sowie eine klare Neuausrichtung der Großbetriebe auf die Rinderproduktion und die Entstehung der biologischen Landwirtschaft.

Es findet ein Prozess der Betriebskonzentration und der Produktivitätssteigerung statt.

Seit 1962 hat sich die Zahl der Hauptbetriebe mit über 50 ha versechsfacht, und ihre durchschnittliche Größe ist von 64 ha auf 104 ha gestiegen.

Aufgaben und Zuständigkeiten des Ministeriums

Zu den Zuständigkeitsbereichen des Ministeriums für Landwirtschaft, Weinbau und ländliche Entwicklung gehören

  • die Nahrungsmittelproduktion in der Landwirtschaft, dem Weinbau und dem Gartenbau,
  • Aspekte der Lebensmittelsicherheit im Zusammenhang mit der Primärproduktion,
  • die Entwicklung des ländlichen Raumes.

Eine moderne, multifunktionale und vor allem nachhaltige Landwirtschaft muss sich durch die Komplementarität von Produktivität, Umwelt- und Tierschutz, Produktqualität, Beschäftigung und territorialer Ausgewogenheit auszeichnen. Die nationale Strategie für diesen Sektor stimmt mit den sechs Prioritäten überein, die in den Vorschriften des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates in Sachen Förderung der Entwicklung des ländlichen Raums durch den Europäischen Landwirtschaftsfonds für die Entwicklung des ländlichen Raums festgelegt sind.

Der Agrarsektor leistet somit einen Beitrag zur Strategie Europa 2020: Er reagiert auf die neuen Herausforderungen unserer Gesellschaft, insbesondere auf die wirtschaftlichen, sozialen, ökologischen, klimatischen und technologischen Herausforderungen, indem er sich an der Förderung eines intelligenten, nachhaltigen und integrativen Wachstums beteiligt.

Neben diesen Herausforderungen müssen sich die Betriebe immer wieder an die Wetterverhältnisse und die sich unaufhörlich ändernden Bedingungen an den Märkten für landwirtschaftliche Erzeugnisse anpassen.

In diesem Zusammenhang ist hervorzuheben, dass die Landwirte uns nicht nur mit Nahrungsmitteln versorgen, sondern auch zur Erhaltung unserer ländlichen Gebiete und natürlichen Ressourcen beitragen – und das ist im Interesse von uns allen. Sie spielen auch eine wichtige Rolle bei der Revitalisierung des ländlichen Raums und der ländlichen Wirtschaft.

Gemeinsame Agrarpolitik

Die Gemeinsame Agrarpolitik (GAP) ist die Antwort Europas auf die Notwendigkeit, 22 Millionen Landwirten und landwirtschaftlichen Arbeitskräften in Europa einen angemessenen Lebensstandard zu sichern und für die 500 Millionen Bürger eine stabile, sichere und gesunde Lebensmittelversorgung zu gewährleisten. Als gemeinsame Politik der Europäischen Union trägt die GAP zur Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Nachhaltigkeit der EU-Landwirtschaft bei, indem sie Direktzahlungen zur Stabilisierung der landwirtschaftlichen Einkommen bereitstellt und im Rahmen nationaler Programme zur Entwicklung des ländlichen Raums Projekte finanziert, die auf die besonderen Bedürfnisse der einzelnen Länder zugeschnitten sind. Sie fördern auch die ländliche Wirtschaft und das Leben im ländlichen Raum im Allgemeinen.

Darüber hinaus sieht die GAP eine Reihe von Marktmaßnahmen vor, darunter Instrumente zur Bewältigung von Preisschwankungen und anderer Marktschwierigkeiten, sowie zusätzliche Elemente wie Gütezeichen oder die Absatzförderung von EU-Agrarerzeugnissen, die die Maßnahmen der GAP zur Unterstützung der Landwirte ergänzen.

Auf europäischer Ebene wurden konkrete politische Prioritäten festgelegt, für die die GAP-Mittel eingesetzt werden sollten: Wachstum und Beschäftigung, Nachhaltigkeit, Modernisierung, Innovation und Qualität. Luxemburg hat jedoch die Flexibilität, sowohl die Direktzahlungen als auch das Programm zur Entwicklung des ländlichen Raums an seine spezifischen Erfordernisse anzupassen.

Gerechtere und ökologischere Direktzahlungen

So wie alle Landwirte in der gesamten EU sind auch die Landwirte in Luxemburg an die „Vorschriften für die Ökologisierung“ gebunden, die sicherstellen sollen, dass sie eine nachhaltige Landwirtschaft betreiben und einen Beitrag zu den Bemühungen der EU im Kampf gegen den Klimawandel und den Verlust an biologischer Vielfalt und Bodenqualität leisten.

Nach diesem System sind 30 % des pro Hektar gezahlten Direktzahlungsrahmens an drei umweltfreundliche Bewirtschaftungspraktiken gebunden: die Anbaudiversifizierung, die Erhaltung von Dauergrünland und die Ausweisung von 5 % der Ackerflächen für Umweltschutzmaßnahmen (sogenannte „im Umweltinteresse genutzte Flächen“). Luxemburg wendet für die Direktzahlungen an Landwirte die standardmäßige Basisprämienregelung an und sieht bis 2019 eine schrittweise Vereinheitlichung der Zahlungen je Hektar vor.

Luxemburg hat außerdem eine Pauschalzahlung für Junglandwirte eingeführt.

Förderung wesentlicher Prioritäten für die ländliche Entwicklung in Luxemburg

Die ländliche Entwicklung ist die zweite Säule der GAP, die den Mitgliedstaaten im Rahmen einer Mehrjahresplanung einen europäischen Finanzrahmen zur Durchführung nationaler oder regionaler kofinanzierter Programme zur Verfügung stellt.

Um für die anstehenden Herausforderungen gerüstet zu sein, orientiert sich das luxemburgische Programm zur Entwicklung des ländlichen Raums (programme de développement rural – PDR) an vier europäischen Prioritäten, von denen die vierte am wichtigsten ist: Wiederherstellung, Erhaltung und Verbesserung der mit der Land- und Forstwirtschaft verbundenen Ökosysteme.

Zu den Zielen und Vorgaben der verschiedenen Prioritäten des PDR 2014-2020 gehören:

  • Nachhaltigkeit und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der landwirtschaftlichen Betriebe
  • Wiederherstellung, Erhaltung und Verbesserung der mit der Land- und Forstwirtschaft verbundenen Ökosysteme
  • Ressourceneffizienz und Klima
  • Soziale Eingliederung und lokale Entwicklung im ländlichen Raum.

Das Gesetz vom 27. Juni 2016 über die Förderung der nachhaltigen Entwicklung des ländlichen Raums setzt unter anderem die im PDR vorgesehenen Maßnahmen um. Ferner gibt es aufbauend auf der oben beschriebenen Reform der GAP für den Zeitraum von 2014-2020 einen rechtlichen Rahmen für staatliche Beihilfen vor.

Ländliche Entwicklung in den Gemeinden

Das Ministerium für Landwirtschaft, Weinbau und ländliche Entwicklung unterstützt die Gemeinden seit 1990 aktiv bei der Ausarbeitung von kommunalen Entwicklungsprogrammen und -plänen (programmes et plans de développement communaux – PDC).

Neben der logistischen und technischen Unterstützung leistet sie auch einen Beitrag zu den Kosten für die Ausarbeitung der kommunalen Planungsprogramme. Dabei beträgt der Höchstsatz 50 % der von den jeweiligen Gemeinden zu tragenden Gesamtkosten.

Im Rahmen des integrierten und partizipativen Ansatzes zu den PDC wird auf der Grundlage einer detaillierten Bestandsaufnahme für die verschiedenen thematischen Achsen des PDC eine Diagnose der Ortschaften entwickelt:

  • regionales Umfeld, demografische Entwicklung, sozioökonomische Strukturen und Gemeinschaftseinrichtungen
  • Lebensraum und Wohnumfeld, Gemeindeplanung und Stadtentwicklung
  • natürliche und menschliche Umwelt, Ökologie in bewohnten Gebieten
  • soziokulturelle Aktivitäten, lokale Identität und Begegnungsstätten.

Ziel dieses integrierten und partizipativen Ansatzes ist es, zu einer gemeinsamen Strategie für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung zu gelangen, die sowohl von den lokalen Amtsträgern als auch von interessierten Akteuren der Zivilgesellschaft weitgehend angenommen und unterstützt wird. Die Umsetzung dieses Ansatzes wird durch das Gesetz vom 27. Juni 2016 gefördert.

LEADER

Die "Liaison Entre Actions de Développement de l’Economie Rurale" (LEADER) ist eine Initiative der Europäischen Union, die Verbindungen zwischen Projekten und Wirtschaftsakteuren im ländlichen Raum herstellen soll. Ziel ist es also, die Bewohner ländlicher Gebiete zu mobilisieren und sie dabei zu unterstützen, ihre Ideen umzusetzen und neue Methoden auszuprobieren.

Die Begünstigten von LEADER sind die lokalen Aktionsgruppen (LAG), in denen öffentliche (Gemeinden) und private Partner aus verschiedenen sozioökonomischen Bereichen zusammenarbeiten. Im Rahmen des „Bottom-up“-Konzeptes sind die LAG für die Ausarbeitung und Umsetzung lokaler Entwicklungsstrategien verantwortlich.

Seit die Initiative im Jahr 1991 in Luxemburg eingeführt wurde, ist LEADER ein wichtiger Bestandteil der regionalen und nationalen Politik zur ländlichen Entwicklung geworden. Dank LEADER wurden fast 440 innovative Projekte umgesetzt. Viele Bewohner ländlicher Gebiete haben sich an LEADER-Projekten beteiligt und davon profitiert.

LEADER unterstützt auch die Bevölkerung und die Wirtschaft, schafft Arbeitsplätze, fördert das kulturelle und soziale Leben, gibt Impulse zur Nutzung aller Potenziale, möchte die Bevölkerung bei Aktionen zusammenbringen, verbindet diejenigen, die sich engagieren, ermöglicht die Umsetzung innovativer Ideen und schafft Kontakte zwischen Bürgern aus ganz Europa.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am