Rural Economy Department (SER)

The Department 

The Rural Economy Department (SER) operates under the authority of the member of the Government whose remit includes the Department of Agriculture and Viticulture.

The SER was created in 1964 by the Law of 21 December 1964 setting up a Rural Economy Department.

Its current activities are defined by the Law of 25 February 1980 on the organisation of the Rural Economy Department, as amended.

Remit

The tasks of the SER include, in particular:

  • producing objective and useful information concerning the economic and social situation of agriculture and viticulture as a whole and the various different categories of agricultural and wine-growing holdings in particular; carrying out, to that end, any investigations and statistical and economic analyses that may be necessary and, in particular, building up and running a network of individual economic accounting operations with regard to agriculture;
  • advising farmers on how best to manage and orient their holdings;
  • promoting cooperation and mutual assistance between agricultural holdings, as well as their adaptation to changing economic, social and environmental conditions;
  • drawing up the annual report on the economic and social situation of agriculture and viticulture;
  • studying, observing and monitoring the agricultural markets and thereby arriving at an informed view of the prospects for the future, in order to, in particular, align production with demand and provide guidance and advice on profitable sales opportunities;
  • studying the economic situation of industries engaged in the processing of agricultural and wine-growing products and researching possible ways of promoting the development of those industries;
  • participating in the development of the common agricultural policy at the EU level and in its application and implementation at the national level;
  • carrying out any other special studies and investigations which it may be charged to undertake concerning the economic and social situation of agriculture and viticulture.

Background

The SER was established in 1964, during the early years of the common agricultural policy (CAP), with the aim of bringing together under one roof the (in part already existing) small-scale departments of the Ministry of Agriculture and taking on new tasks aimed at making Luxembourg's agricultural sector, and its farmers, economically fit for purpose within the framework of the newly emerging Europe and helping to represent the interests of Luxembourg's agriculture at the European level.

The setting-up of the SER was urgently needed in 1964, on account of the increasingly complicated and complex tasks with which the Ministry of Agriculture was being called upon to deal. What was required was to get the agriculture department working with the maximum efficiency and effectiveness.

Prior to 1964, the Ministry of Agriculture had set up departments and services on a sporadic and/or temporary basis (for example: the Department for Economic Studies, the Department for Agricultural Markets, the Department for Agricultural Accounting, etc.), staffed by officials on secondment from other administrative bodies or by employees recruited on a temporary basis.

Given the lack of satisfactory coordination and the inadequate facilities of those departments, and in view of the European integration that was taking place, the Ministry of Agriculture was constrained to equip itself with the necessary framework for its work in that area.

The SER was set up primarily with a view to the more efficient production of objective information regarding the economic and social situation in the agriculture and viticulture sectors. At that time, with far-reaching transformations of the economic structures in Luxembourg’s agriculture and viticulture sectors making themselves felt, the elaboration of those basic data was a matter of the very greatest importance.

The SER's mission also extended to market problems. What was required was not only to supervise the implementation of the market organisation measures for the future but also to draw the necessary inferences with regard to trends and to study each of the different agricultural production operations by reference to its marketing potential.

The SER was additionally given the task of representing the interests of Luxembourg's agriculture sector in the various international organisations and, with the help of the studies at hand, participating in the best possible way in the discussions taking place within those international bodies. The SER also enabled the Ministry of Agriculture to respond better to requests for statistical or economic information (received principally from international organisations, and in particular from the European Union).

Since the SER was founded, there has been little change in the scope of its tasks, but the extent of its work in a number of different areas has increased.

Thus, for example, over the course of the years the departments dealing with agricultural markets have had to undergo a complete reorganisation in order to adapt their mode of operation to the common market organisations

Organisation chart

The Department is composed of adirectorate and 3 divisions.

Directorate

General coordination, legal issues, staffing and budgetary matters, technical equipment, etc.

Directory

Direct Payments Division

Participation in the development of the CAP in the area of direct aid, management of direct aid (basic payments, compensatory allowances, premiums for landscape maintenance and natural spaces) and management of aid conditionality, relations with other administrative bodies within the framework of the management and control of aid applications, management of the register of holdings, and non-contentious administrative procedures.

Directory

Agricultural Management, Accounting and Support Division

Preparing the accounts of various agricultural and viticultural holdings; giving economic advice in management matters; participating in the drawing-up and implementation of the agrarian legislation; representation in various official bodies and working groups.

Directory

Agricultural Statistics, Agricultural Markets and External Relations Division

Drawing up statistics relating to agricultural production, economic accounts in respect of agriculture, etc.;

Management and control of agricultural markets (cereals, oilseed and protein (COP) crops, milk and dairy products, livestock and meat derived from animals);

Participation in the development of the CAP in the area of agricultural markets.

Directory

Last update

Landwirtschaftlicher Wirtschaftsdienst (SER)

Die Verwaltung

Der landwirtschaftliche Wirtschaftsdienst (Service d’Économie Rurale, SER) untersteht dem für die Abteilung für Landwirtschaft und Weinbau zuständigen Regierungsmitglied.

Der SER wurde 1964 durch das Gesetz vom 21. Dezember 1964 über die Einrichtung eines Amtes für ländliche Wirtschaft gegründet.

Seine derzeitigen Tätigkeiten sind im geänderten Gesetz vom 25. Februar 1980 über die Organisation des landwirtschaftlichen Wirtschaftsdiensts (loi modifiée du 25 février 1980 portant organisation du service d’économie rurale) festgelegt.

Zuständigkeitsbereich

  • Die Aufgaben des SER können folgendermaßen unterteilt werden:
  • Erstellung von objektiven und zweckdienlichen Informationen über die allgemeine wirtschaftliche und soziale Lage in der Landwirtschaft und im Weinbau sowie über die spezielle Lage in den verschiedenen Betriebskategorien; zu diesem Zweck Durchführung von Umfragen und Erstellung von statistischen und wirtschaftlichen Analysen und insbesondere Aufbau und Führung eines Netzes von einzelbetrieblichen Buchführungen landwirtschaftlicher Betriebe;
  • betriebswirtschaftliche Beratung der Landwirte in der Betriebsführung und ‑orientierung;
  • Förderung der überbetrieblichen Zusammenarbeit zwischen den landwirtschaftlichen Betrieben sowie deren Anpassung an sich ändernde ökonomische, soziale und umweltpolitische Bedingungen;
  • Erstellung des jährlichen Berichts über die wirtschaftliche und soziale Lage in der Landwirtschaft und im Weinbau;
  • Studium, Beobachtung und Überwachung der landwirtschaftlichen Märkte und Ableitung von voraussichtlichen Entwicklungen zwecks Orientierung der Produktion nach Maßgabe der Nachfrage und des rentablen Absatzes;
  • Studium der wirtschaftlichen Situation der Verarbeitungsbetriebe von landwirtschaftlichen und weinbaulichen Produkten und Suche nach geeigneten Mitteln zur Förderung der Entwicklung dieser Betriebe;
  • Beteiligung an der Ausarbeitung der Gemeinsamen Agrarpolitik der Europäischen Union und an deren Anwendung und Durchführung auf nationaler Ebene;
  • Erstellung von speziellen, ihm aufgetragenen Studien und Erhebungen über die wirtschaftliche und soziale Lage in der Landwirtschaft und im Weinbau.

Vorgeschichte

Der SER wurde 1964 in den Anfangsjahren der gemeinsamen Agrarpolitik (GAP) gegründet mit dem Ziel, die teilweise schon bestehenden kleinen Dienststellen des Landwirtschaftsministeriums zusammenzuführen und neue Aufgaben wahrzunehmen, um die luxemburgische Landwirtschaft und ihre Landwirte wirtschaftlich fit zu machen im Umfeld des entstehenden Europas und um zu helfen, die Interessen der luxemburgischen Landwirtschaft auf europäischer Ebene zu vertreten.

Die Schaffung des SER drängte sich im Jahre 1964 wegen der komplizierter und vielschichtiger werdenden Aufgaben, die das Landwirtschaftsministerium zu bewältigen hatte, auf. Es ging darum, das Ressort der Landwirtschaft möglichst effektiv und wirksam arbeiten zu lassen.

Bis 1964 hatte das Landwirtschaftsministerium zeitweilige Dienststellen eingerichtet (zum Beispiel: Dienststelle für ökonomische Studien, Dienststelle für landwirtschaftliche Märkte, Dienststelle für landwirtschaftliche Buchführung...), deren Personal sich zusammensetzte aus detachierten Beamten aus anderen Verwaltungen oder aber aus zeitweiligen Angestellten.

Angesichts der unzureichenden Koordinierung und Ausstattung dieser Dienststellen sowie der europäischen Integration musste das Landwirtschaftsministerium sich mit dem erforderlichen Rahmen ausstatten.

Die Schaffung des SER visierte vor allem die leistungsfähigere Erstellung objektiver Informationen über die ökonomische und soziale Lage der Landwirtschaft und des Weinbaus. Die Ausarbeitung dieser Basisdaten war zum Zeitpunkt, wo sich tiefgreifende Umgestaltungen der ökonomischen Strukturen in Landwirtschaft und Weinbau in Luxemburg bemerkbar machten, von größter Wichtigkeit.

Die Mission des SER dehnte sich ebenfalls auf Marktprobleme aus. Es ging darum, für die Zukunft nicht nur die Anwendung der Marktorganisationen zu überwachen, sondern auch die Tendenzen abzuleiten und die je nach Absatzmöglichkeiten verschieden auszurichtenden landwirtschaftlichen Produktionen zu studieren.

Außerdem bekam der SER die Aufgabe, die luxemburgischen landwirtschaftlichen Interessen in den verschiedenen internationalen Organisationen zu vertreten und anhand der vorhandenen Studien sich an den Diskussionen innerhalb dieser internationalen Gremien optimal zu beteiligen. Der SER ermöglichte außerdem dem Landwirtschaftsministerium Anfragen (vor allem seitens internationaler Organisationen und im besonderen seitens der Europäischen Union) zu statistischen oder ökonomischen Informationen besser nachkommen zu können.

Seither hat sich die Bandbreite der Aufgaben kaum geändert, aber das Arbeitsausmaß hat in verschiedenen Teilen zugenommen.

So mussten zum Beispiel im Laufe der Jahre die Dienststellen für landwirtschaftliche Märkte einer kompletten Reorganisation unterzogen werden um ihre Funktionsweise den gemeinsamen Marktorganisationen anzupassen.

Organigramm

Der Dienst besteht aus einer Direktion und 3 Abteilungen.

Direktion

Allgemeine Koordination, juristische Fragen, Personal- und Budgetfragen, technische Ausrüstung, usw.  

Verzeichnis

Abteilung für Direktzahlungen

Mitwirkung bei der Ausarbeitung der GAP im Bereich Direktbeihilfen, Verwaltung der Direktbeihilfen (Basisprämie, Ausgleichszulage, Landschaftspflegeprämie) und der Konditionalität, Beziehungen zu anderen Verwaltungen im Rahmen der Verwaltung und Kontrolle der Beihilfeanträge, Führung des Betriebsregisters, nichtstreitige Verwaltungsverfahren.

Verzeichnis

Abteilung für Agrarmanagement, -buchführung und landwirtschaftliche Nachbarschaftshilfe

Erstellung der Buchführung für eine Reihe landwirtschaftlicher Betriebe und Weinbaubetriebe, Betriebsberatung, Mitwirkung bei der Ausarbeitung des Agrargesetzes und dessen Umsetzung, Vertretung in einer Reihe offizieller Stellen und Arbeitsgruppen

Verzeichnis

Abteilung für Agrarstatistik, landwirtschaftliche Märkte und Außenbeziehungen

Erstellung von Agrarstatistiken über die landwirtschaftliche Erzeugung, landwirtschaftliche Gesamtrechnungen, Verwaltung und Kontrolle der Agrarmärkte (Getreide, Ölsaaten und Eiweißpflanzen (GÖE), Milch und Milcherzeugnisse, Viehbestand und Fleisch aus Tierhaltung), Beteiligung an der Ausarbeitung der GAP im Bereich Agrarmärkte

Verzeichnis

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am